NLNG Prize For Science 2018: Call For Submission Towards Electric Power Solution

The 2018 Nigeria Prize for Science has been announced by the Nigeria LNG Limited. The prize which is the biggest recognition for scientific achievement in the country, has a USD100, 000 grand prize for its winner. Here is all you need to know about the NLNG Prize for science 2018.


The prize is an annual event that is designed and sponsored by the Nigeria LNG Limited which also happens to sponsor the Nigeria Prize for Literature. The aim of the award is so as to bring Nigerian scientists and their achievements to the eyes of the public, thereby helping them with their scientific breakthrough.

Administered by the by the Nigerian Academy of Science, the prize was initiated in 2004. At the time, the reward was $20,000. The prize was increased to USD30, 000 in 2006, before finally moving to USD100, 000 in 2011.

See Also: 14 Best Universities of Science and Technology in Nigeria: 4icu Rankings 2018

The first winners of the NLNG Prize for science are Professor Akpoveta Susu and his then doctoral student (now doctor) Kingsley Abhulimen. Both researchers were at the University of Lagos.

Other previous winners

  • 2005: No winner
  • 2006: Professor Micheal Adikwu with his work, Wound Healing Devices (Formulations) Containing Snail Mucin, that snail mucins can play a key role in the pharmaceutical industry as a drug delivery agent.
  • 2007: No Winner.
  • 2008: Dr Ebenezer Meshida with his work Solution to Road Pavement Destabilisaion by the Invention of ‘Lateralite’: A Stabilisation Flux for Fine Grained Lateritic Soils which will make Nigerian roads durable through the elimination of potholes and gullies.
  • 2009: Professor Andrew Nok for his work on the discovery of the gene responsible for the creation of Sialidase (SD), an enzyme which causes sleeping sickness (Trypanosomiasis).
  • 2010: Professor Akahehomen O. Akii Ibhadode for his work on the development of a new method in Die Design.
  • 2011: No winner.
  • 2012: No winner
  • 2013: Prize was undergoing review
  • 2014 – 2016: No winner
  • 2017: won by the 3 researchers below:

“Improving Home and Community Management of Malaria: Providing the Evidence Base” by Ikeoluwapo Ajayi, Ayodele Jegede & Bidemi Yusuf

“Multifaceted Efforts at Malaria Control in Research: Management of Malaria of Various Grades and Mapping Artemisinin Resistance” by Olugbenga Mokuolu;

“Novel lipid microparticles for effective delivery of Artemether antimalarial drug using a locally-sourced Irvingia fat from nuts of Irvingia gabonensis var excelsa (ogbono)” by Chukwuma Agub ata

NLNG Prize for science 2018

Theme: Innovation in Electric Power Solutions (Consequent to the theme of this year’s prize, entries are welcomed from researchers who have worked or are working on solving the electric power problems with Nigeria in perspective).


  • The award is open to all Nigerians and non-Nigerians involved in application of science to proffer solutions to the electricity challenges confronting Nigeria.
  • The work should be of outstanding merit and should have advanced the frontiers of knowledge and /or provided a solution in the area of malaria control.
  • The material for consideration must be original and indicate the specific area of merit, and all submissions must relate to that particular area.
  • The materials for the award must not be under consideration for any other award
  • The staff of the NLNG as well as their family members are not eligible for the prize.
  • Members of the Advisory board as well as the panel of judges or their relatives are not eligible for the prize for the year of service as well as the following year.


  • Since the aim of the prize is a recognition of the relevant Nigerian problems and proffer solutions for them, it is also opened to works of collaboration by two or more persons.
  • No one is allowed to submit more than a single entry in a particular year.
  • Entries previously submitted cannot be considered again for the prize for the subsequent years coming.
  • The NLNG Prize for science is strictly awarded on the basis of excellence.


Winner(s) will be announced in October and presented to the public at a later date.


The Nigeria Prize for Science

External Relations Division

Nigeria LNG Limited

INTELS Aba Road Estate

Km 16, Port Harcourt-Aba Expressway

PMB 5660, Port Harcourt, Rivers State, Nigeria.


The Nigeria Prize for Science

External Relations Division

Nigeria LNG Limited

4th floor, Heron House

10 Dean Farrar Street

London, SW1H ODX.

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the NLNG Prize for Science 2018